27 teams to battle for US Open T20 glory


SUNRISE/FL – USA: A total of 27 teams will vie for the coveted 2019 US Open T20 title from December 19 to 22.
On Tuesday, Cricket Council USA (CCUSA) hosted a team draft as there were too many registrants that came forward. The executive of CCUSA headed by Mahammad Qureshi had to sit and carefully go through all 84 teams before settling on the final 27 that will take the field at the Central Broward Regional Cricket Stadium.
At the draft held at Joy’s Roti Delight in Sunrise, owners of some of the teams were on hand to see the results and now they will be provided with a list that numbers 820 players who have registered to take part.
The owners can then choose from this list and submit their team for ratification by CCUSA. After the lists from the respective teams are collected CCUSA will then comb it to ensure that there are no double bookings for players. When the list is cleaned it will be sent to the International Cricket Council (ICC) for verification and then and only then, will the names of the players participating be released for public consumption.
Qureshi was very pleased with the final composition in terms of the teams selected. “We had an arduous task of going through all teams before settling on the final 27 to participate. We used different criteria in terms of those that paid first, teams that have had a history with us over the last 10 years and teams that we known bring players here with the sole intention of developing cricket in the United States.”
Vice-chairman Mohammed Amin Markatia said all have been approved by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for this tournament and they will be sending in a team from their anti-corruption committee to meet with managers so that they can be informed what is required of the players in terms of not having anyone approach them with match-fixing.
Sofian Qamar the operations manager at CCUSA was also on hand and revealed that his team has been working day and night to ensure all is in place for the start of the tournament and he is calling on all teams to make sure and meet all their final criteria as required by CCUSA for a smooth running of the tournament.
The teams chosen are:
Multan Sultan
Miami Sharks
Atlanta Griffin
Paramveer Tigers
Atlanta Fire
GA Spartanz
Napali Rhinos
Silicon Valley X Factors
Faisalabad Falcons
Ohio Falcons
Cavalier Kings
Afghan Zwanan CC
Punjab CC
Florida Scorpions
Myrtle Grove Miami
California Kings
Global Sports
Miami Sharks
CT. Blizzards
Paramveer Tigers
Titans CC
Tigers CC
Florida Spartans
Florida International
Chicago Catchers
Houston Stars

Related posts