Montreal Tigers roar to victory, clinch GT20 Canada season three title with thrilling last-ball win


Andre Russell’s last over exploits help the Tigers sail home

Brampton, August 6th, 2023: The TD Cricket Arena in Brampton was packed to the rafters as Montreal Tigers were anointed champions of season three of Global T20 Canada, following a sensational last ball victory against the Surrey Jaguars. The Montreal Tigers chased down the target of 131, with five wickets in hand. Jatinder Singh’s (56*) half century and Iftikhar Ahmed’s (2/8) crafty spell kept the Jaguars in the mix till the very last delivery, however, Sherfane Rutherford (38*) and Andre Russell (20*) wove a match winning partnership of 29 runs in just twelve balls to bring home the trophy for the Montreal Tigers. 

The Montreal Tigers won the toss and chose to field first. Openers, Mohammad Haris (23) and Jatinder Singh (56*) started cautiously and at the end of the powerplay the Surrey Jaguars were 35/0. Jatinder Singh anchored the innings, with an unbeaten half century. Aayan Afzal Khan got the Tigers their first breakthrough, when he trapped a well settled Mohammad Haris (23) in the sixth over. Litton Das (12) joined Jatinder Singh and continued to rotate the strike and minimize risks. At the halfway mark of ten overs the Jaguars were 58/1. Soon after, Aayan Afzal Khan bowled out Litton Das (12) in the eleventh over. Skipper Iftikhar Ahmed (8) looked to move the scoreboard along and lost his wicket as well to Carlos Brathwaite’s low full toss. Ayaan Khan (26) walked in for the Jaguars and played a much-needed quick fire knock towards the death overs in just 15 deliveries before he was cleaned up by Abbas Afridi in the nineteenth over. Andre Russell bowled a terrific last over, conceding only 7 runs and taking out Matthew Forde (1) in the process. The Surrey Jaguars finished on a competitive total of 130/5.   

The Montreal Tigers’ response had a tempestuous start. Following a dropped catch, Muhammad Waseem (0) was bowled by a ripper from Spencer Johnson. At the end of the powerplay the Tigers were poised at 35/1. Coming in at number three, Srimantha Wijeyeratne (12) failed to convert his start, however, opener Chris Lynn (31) batted well to make a key contribution but was dismissed by Iftikhar Ahmed in the eleventh over. In the same over, Iftikhar Ahmed took Dilpreet Singh (15), who was also getting his eye in, to switch the momentum back in favour of the Jaguars.

With five overs to go, the Montreal Tigers needed 53 runs with six wickets in hand. Sherfane Rutherford (38) and Dipendra Singh (16) struggled to score runs against Iftikhar Ahmed, who conceded just one run in the sixteenth over. Rutherford took apart Matthew Forde in the eighteenth over, with a six and a four to bring the equation down to 25 runs needed from 12 balls. Dipendra Singh Airee retired, to bring out the dangerous Andre Russell (20). Spencer Johnson bowled the penultimate over and conceded 12 runs to the duo of Russell and Rutherford. With two runs needed from the last ball, pacer Ammar Khalid could not contain Andre Russell who dispatched his second maximum of the over, to claim the silverware for the Montreal Tigers. The Montreal Tigers finished at 135/5.  

Brief Scores   

Surrey Jaguars – 130/5 (Jatinder Singh – 56 runs in 57 balls, Mohammad Haris – 23 runs in 22 balls, Ayaan Khan – 26 runs in 15 balls, Ayaan Afzal Khan – 2/21, Andre Russell – 1/24, Abbas Afridi – 1/31)  

Montreal Tigers – 135/5 ( Sherfane Rutherford – 38* runs in 29 balls, Chris Lynn – 31 runs in 35 balls, Andre Russell – 20* runs in 6 balls, Iftikhar Ahmed – 2/8, Ayaan Khan – 1/12, Spencer Johnson – 1/31)  

Tigers won by 5 wickets (with 0 balls remaining)


About Cricket Canada
Cricket Canada is the official governing body for the sport of cricket in Canada. It is a not-for-profit organization recognized by the International Cricket Council and the Government of Canada.

About Global T20 Canada
Global T20 Canada debuted in 2018 and is the first professional cricket league in North America playing the Twenty20 format of the sport. It consists of six franchises – Toronto Nationals, Vancouver Knights, Montreal Tigers, Mississauga Panthers, Brampton Wolves, and Surrey Jaguars – featuring international stars from around the world as well as homegrown talent playing on Canada’s men’s national cricket team.  The 2023 edition is the third and follows the successful second edition in 2019 that drew 133 million viewers across 84 countries around the world.

Related posts