Competitive groups for US Open T20


Teams can still continue with registration - News925


Two very competitive groups have been formed for this year’s US Open T20 cricket tournament which bowls off on December 6 at the Central Broward Regional Park in Fort Lauderdale, USA.

A total of 10 teams will be vying for US$100,000 in prizes and this time around there is an increased number of foreign professionals coming on board which will lend to an even greater quality of cricket.

The committee set up by ruling body Cricket Council USA (CCUSA) have been meeting for a while and after great consultation they have decided on the groupings. President of CCUSA Sofian Qamar told News925 : “The committee met and looked at the strength of all the teams on paper and came up with two competitive groups. The ensured that there was no ‘group of death’ so to speak as they think that both groups are balanced and hence there will be competitive cricket leading up to the knockout stages of the tournament.”

How the tournament has been structured is that each group of five teams will play each other in the round robin basis and then the top two teams from each group will advance to the semis. The winners of Group A will meet the runners-up of Group B and the runners-up of Group A will meet the winners of Group B in the semis.

The US Open T20 committee has placed the US All Stars, Cavaliers 22 Yards, NDCC Royals, Brampton Pacers and Yankee Royals in Group A. In Group B you have Samp Army, Clarion County Eagles, Punjab Blues, Titans Cricket Club and Florida Scorpions.

Related posts