Asad Shafiq to lead Pakistan A against Australia


By Jawad Hussain

KARACHI, September 24, 2018 ( – The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced on Monday a 14-member squad for the upcoming practice game against Australia at the ICC Academy in Dubai.


Middle-order batsman Asad Shafiq has been given the charge of the 14-man squad for the four-day game against Australia which swings into action from September 29.

The squad was made public by Chief Selector PCB, Inzamam-ul-Haq, who is a former Pakistani Test cricketer. According to the details, the 14-member Pakistan-A squad includes Asad Shafiq (Captain), Sami Aslam, Abid Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Usman Salahuddin, Saad Ali, Agha Salman, Muhammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Waqas Masood, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Amir Yamin, Umaid Asif, and Saud Shakeel.

The absence of left-handed batsman from Karachi, Fawad Alam, has once again raised eyebrows in the cricket circles of Pakistan. The left-hander has long been out of favors of the Pakistani cricket authorities despite performing exceedingly well in the domestic cricket.

The PCB authorities are yet to name the squad for the international Test series against Australia. Tim Paine will lead the Australian team on the tour to Pakistan, which is effectively a tour to the United Arab Emirates. Pakistan play their home series in the U.A.E. as international teams refused to tour the South Asian country ever since a terrorist attack on the Sri Lankan cricket team in March 2010 in Lahore.

The first Test match between Pakistan and Australia will be played at Dubai International Stadium from October 7 whereas Abu Dhabi’s Sheikh Zayed Stadium will host the second Test.


Related posts