Pakistan fast bowlers Amir, Riaz lose central contracts


“Pakistan paceman Mohammad Amir has lost his central contract. ©AFP” />

Karachi (AFP) – Pakistan fast bowlers Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz have lost their central contracts after the pair decided to focus on white-ball cricket, officials said Wednesday, as selectors promote younger pacemen.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) also confirmed Azhar Ali as Test captain and Babar Azam as one-day and Twenty20 captain for the upcoming season starting in July.

Eighteen players in three categories received central contracts guaranteeing their monthly salaries and benefits for 12 months.

The exclusion of Amir and Riaz comes as young fast bowlers are given a chance, with 17-year-old pace sensation Naseem Shah included in the “C” category for the first time.

Naseem became the youngest Test bowler in history to take a five-wicket haul in an innings and a hat-trick in consecutive Tests against Sri Lanka (December 2019) and Bangladesh (February 2020) in Karachi and Rawalpindi.

Another young pacer Shaheen Shah was bumped up to the “A” group after he featured in all three formats for Pakistan in the past 12 months.

“The selectors have made the tough decisions to leave out Amir and Wahab but considering Amir and Wahab decided to focus on white-ball cricket this was the right move,” chief selector and head coach Misbah-ul-Haq said.

The move by the PCB comes after Amir announced his retirement from Test cricket at the age of 28, and after Riaz took an indefinite break from Tests to focus on Twenty20 matches.

Former skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed and leg-spinner Yasir Shah were demoted from “A” to “B” category after lacklustre performances, while injured fast bowler Hasan Ali also lost his contract.

Pakistan is scheduled to play nine Tests, six one-day internationals and 20 T20Is, besides the Asia Cup and the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020, but that will depend on the coronavirus outbreak.

The PCB has also created a new Emerging Players’ Category.The first inductees are Haider Ali and fast bowlers Haris Rauf and Mohammad Hasnain.

PCB Men’s Central Contract List for 2020-21:

Category A: Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Shaheen Shah Afridi

Category B: Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Shan Masood, Yasir Shah

Category C: Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Naseem Shah, Usman Shinwari

Emerging Players’ Category: Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain

Related posts

19 Thoughts to “Pakistan fast bowlers Amir, Riaz lose central contracts”

  1. generic cialis online tadalafil 10mg canada buy generic ed pills

  2. order accutane 10mg pill oral accutane zithromax uk

  3. azithromycin 500mg usa azithromycin 500mg us cheap neurontin for sale

  4. buy generic furosemide 100mg how to buy doxycycline order ventolin 2mg generic

  5. levitra sale brand tizanidine buy hydroxychloroquine for sale

  6. altace canada buy altace 10mg pills purchase arcoxia pills

  7. buy generic vardenafil 20mg where can i buy hydroxychloroquine buy hydroxychloroquine

  8. asacol tablet buy astelin irbesartan 300mg brand

  9. order olmesartan online verapamil order buy divalproex 250mg generic

  10. order diamox 250 mg generic order azathioprine 25mg online cheap buy azathioprine 50mg

  11. lanoxin 250 mg drug cheap telmisartan 80mg buy generic molnunat

  12. What’s up mates, good post and pleasant arguments
    commented at this place, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

    My website : mp3 juice

  13. purchase naprosyn generic purchase naprosyn online cheap buy prevacid generic

  14. baricitinib drug order generic glucophage generic atorvastatin

  15. buy proventil generic protonix pills phenazopyridine order

  16. Hello, i feel that i noticed you visited my website so i got here to return the desire?.I am trying to in finding things to improve\r\nmy website!I suppose its adequate to make use of a few of\r\nyour concepts!!\r\n\r\nCheck out my website : ytmp3

  17. buy generic singulair online dapsone 100mg usa avlosulfon 100 mg cheap

Leave a Comment