Competitive groups for US Open T20


MARGATE/FL – USA: Two competitive groups have been put together for the upcoming 12th edition of the US Open T20 tournament, carded for Fort Lauderdale, USA.
The popular tournament will see eight teams taking part due to the Covid 19 Pandemic. Normally 32 teams vie for the $100,000 prize money but this time around the organizers’ Cricket Council USA (CCUSA) had to cut the number of teams to eight as all matches will be played at the bio-secure venue, Central Broward Regional Park.
Saturday, the lineup of teams was released by the tournament chairman Shah Zafar. In Group A there will be US All-Stars, Somerset Cavaliers, Punjab Blues and, Samp Army, while Group B will entertain Atlanta Param Veers, 22 Yards Sultan CC, Brampton Pacers, and Afghan Zwanan CC.
After the group stages, the two top teams from each group will then  advance to the semi-finals. The winner of Group A, will play the runner-up of Group B, while the winner of Group B, battles the runner-up from Group A.
According to Zafar: “After a thorough review of the team players list submitted by the team owners, the scheduling committee finalized the groupings. We think that given the strength of the individual teams we have put together two groups that will be very competitive.”
Chairman of Cricket Council USA Mahammad Qureshi said that looking at the groups that have been put together, there is sure to be excitement and great play. Imagine we have two former champions in Group A in US All Stars and Somerset Cavaliers. This is sure to bring about a great standard of cricket and by extension a number of competitive matches.”

Related posts